The Films of August (UK)

Ahh, August. The last month of summer and, consequently, the last month of summer movies. As always in the world of cinemas, there’s a wide array of films releasing, which should be enough to satisfy the needs of the average cinemas goer, to the Cineworld Unlimited card faithful.

Red 2 (Aug 2)

Yep, the old age pensioners – or the too old to be in the Expendables gang – have been let out of the retirement home again. I did go see Red in 2010 upon its release and I remember quite enjoying it, but.. I literally can’t remember anything about it or ever clamouring for a sequel. And judging from the critical response it’s receiving in America (where it’s already been released),

Red 2

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (Aug 7)

I am Siegeface. Having seen the trailer multiple times now, the ‘I am Siegeface’ line still makes me crack a smile. And up until about a month ago when I first saw the trailer, I didn’t even know this film existed. I’m glad I know now, though, as it could be spotlight-stealer of August if it delivers from the impressive trailers.

Alan Partridge Alpha Papa

The Lone Ranger (Aug 12)

The Lone Ranger

Kick-Ass 2 (Aug 14)

The last comic book movie of the year, unfortunately, but has the best been saved until last? Well, Kick-Ass (2010) would be regarded by some as the best comic book movie of all time, and I must say, they have a strong case to be had. My only fear with Kick-Ass 2 is that the actual source material – i.e. book 2 of the Kick-Ass comics which the film is based on – isn’t that great.

kick ass 2

Planes (Aug 16)

This isn’t the Disney film we need, nor is it the one we deserve. However, we are getting it regardless, and it looks awful. Because Cars wasn’t bad enough, Planes had to be brought into the fray. Ships is next, apparently. Sometimes when you’re a kid, you don’t know the difference between a good show and a bad one; hopefully there are some kids out there who realise Planes isn’t going to be good, though.

planes

Elysium (Aug 21)

I’m a fan of Matt Damon. I’m a fan of sci-fi. Though what piqued my interest in Elysium was the director Neil Blomkamp’s involvement, who also wrote the film. You don’t know who Blompamp is? Well, he co-wrote and directed the independent cult hit District 9. Yeah, your interest should have piqued right about now.

Elysium

Jurassic Park 3D (Aug 26)

Dinosaurs in 3D… need I say more?

Jurassic Park 3d

Pain and Gain (Aug 30)

Being a wrestling fan and a fan of Dwayne Johnson, I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a sucker for the films he stars in – well, at least the more recent of ones over the years. Add in a ripped Mark Wahlberg to boot, and you’ve got yourself two star-studded actors in what looks like will end the month of August with a bang.

Pain and Gain

Leave a Reply

